Journey of a Lifetime

What is life? To me it’s a matter of choice. You take the right road and everything turns out well but one wrong turn and you end up in jeopardy. But that is life, it’s a rollercoaster ride which has unpredictable ups and downs of its own. My life is not so much of a roller-coaster ride but it’s what you call deep like the ocean and calm as the sea sort.

IMG_0203

Hello Readers, my name is Laiba Jawad. I am the eldest child on both the maternal and paternal sides of my family. I have spent a lifetime in the city of Lahore. I find myself quite lucky to be born in the liveliest place possible in Pakistan, which is rich in culture and in history. There is an old saying which claims “Whosoever hasn’t been to or seen Lahore, hasn’t been born yet”. So being a Lahori you are automatically assigned various characteristics and one of the most popular one is being a food lover. I am definitely all into food but with it I would also love to adopt the deeper and more richer side of Lahore, its culture.

My primary and secondary schooling was from the Lahore Grammar School (55 Main), which is one of the most prestigious schools in town. I am currently doing my Bachelor’s Degree from the Lahore School of Economics.Picture1

I am a girl of various interests which include poetry, travelling, listening to music, reading books and a lot more.

I am passionate about poetry, especially romantic poetry. My favorite poets include John Keats, William Wordsworth and Elizabeth Barret Browning. I personally believe that poetry is for the soul what food is for the body. It enlightens you in every possible way. Similarly reading books is a hobby that I just cannot leave aside. Books take you into a world of their own and open possibilities to all kinds of imagination. You can imagine the characters, hear their voices, feel their joy, cry in their agony and create an unbreakable bond with them. You seem to own the world. Books are your companions for life and they just don’t let you feel lonely.

I was also given an opportunity to become an author to “To Infinity and Beyond”, when we were assigned to write novels for one of our courses at the Lahore School. Novels are like a self-exploration journey that help you discover the various sides of your personality which previously you were unaware of.

IMG_20170410_032621

History is something I’m very fond of learning. I love to explore and discover new dimensions of places that were once homes to great kings and civilizations that no longer exist. And this passion also led me to be a part of an extraordinary team which filmed a documentary of the famous ‘Lahore Fort’, which highlighted the lesser known and more interesting facts of the fort and stories of the kings that once dwelled in it.

I am just insane about travelling. I haven’t been everywhere but it surely is on my list. I would love to be a Travel Writer, if I could. Travelling gives you the freedom and the opportunity to learn and interact with the diversity of cultures, religions, traditions etc. It takes you by the hand and shows you the worlds within the world. It turns you into a nomad of sorts and you can do anything you want, be anything you want in those places. It can also serve as a form of escape, escape from the tyrannies of life, escape from the reality for some time. The length of the journey is not what matters but it’s the experience that counts, that changes you in ways you don’t even realize. I have made an oath to myself, to travel around the world and explore, not visit but explore at least fifty countries on the map. As a wise man once said “The world is a book and those who don’t travel, read only one page.” 

image1

When it comes to listening to music, I don’t really have a preference, it all depends on the kind of mood I am in at the time (isn’t it the case for everyone?). Generally I like to listen to something calm and soothing but at times I love listening to music that just gives you a dopamine rush and lightens up your mood. The never-ending list of my favorite Artists/Bands includes Bryan Adams, Guns N’ Roses, Coldplay, Ed Sheeran, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and many more.

Throughout the years, I have changed in many ways. Some that I’m aware of and some which are unknown to me and only the people close to me can really tell. Life is like a dream and I believe that one should cherish the dream and make the most of it. We should enjoy it to the fullest because there are no second chances. So while we are at it, I suggest break the rules, forgive quickly, love deeply, laugh uncontrollably and never regret anything that made you smile.

kkk    Picture2

Hope you liked a glimpse of my life and maybe at some point I managed to put a smile on your face.

Till next time Folks! 

Leave a Reply

