Going through life 

So I’ve lived in Lahore for almost 11 years now, and it is a place I have always wanted to call home before moving here, and am glad to actually call it my home. I was born in Holland, lived there for 11 years of my life before moving here. I’m 22 years old now living in the city where my parents were born and raised, studying in The Lahore School of Economics doing my bachelors. I visit Holland in summers every other year now. Growing up here, where both my parents’ families live turned me into the person I am today. Learning about different values, cultures, and traditions. You start understanding the difference between what is right and wrong, and what society thinks is right and wrong. But who really knows absolutely what is right, and what is not? That being said, I believe that when you are good to yourself, you will be good to others. We’ve always been told to start with ourselves, because unless we understand ourselves, how can we begin to understand others. But that is life, keeping it real, and keeping simple.

 

For as long as I can remember, I have always been into sports. I started swimming when I was 5. Then I started playing cricket, which became my passion. Along with that, I’ve always loved playing football. I’ve played these two games everywhere I go, in clubs, in teams with friends, and in school too. That is, until I came to university when I quit playing so often. I still stay on track with the football leagues, club matches and cricket matches. Roller coaster rides, cliff diving, and bungee jumping are some activities that I enjoy. Every year on New Year’s Eve, we have fireworks at home. This has been a tradition in our family ever since we lived in Holland. It only continued here because me and my 2 brothers insisted our parents to go for it each year.


Going through life, you have to believe that not everything goes as expected. ‘Expect the unexpected’. You never know when something will happen that will leave you questioning everything. That does not mean it’s bad, it could be something that changes your life in the most worthwhile way. Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, and today is a gift. That’s why they call it present.

Leave a Reply

